Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz
Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz
How Can We Regulate the HPA Axis in 3 Steps & Manage Chronic Stress for a Healthier & Happier Life
10
0:00
-12:24

How Can We Regulate the HPA Axis in 3 Steps & Manage Chronic Stress for a Healthier & Happier Life

I explain the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis, how stress, negative thoughts, and unpleasant emotions can dysregulate this system leading to various health problems, offering practical tips.
10

Non-members can read this important story here. I also shared a copy for Medium readers.

Dear new readers, this post might surprise you as I was surprised one of my collaborators

kindly turned my previously boosted story into an interactive podcast to inform and delight my readers. With his permission, I attached the audio file he designed using Google’s new KLM software.

I have written a lot about chronic stress, its impact and implications, and what we can do about it in multiple stories before from my main account Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main) on my personal publication EUPHORIA on Medium. One of the exceptional pieces that gained traction and educated my readers was titled 3 Steps to Regulate HPA Axis and Defeat Chronic Stress.

This story was not ordinary, as I spent hours designing it to make it a valuable, accessible, and inspiring knowledge resource. I documented the history and thought leadership behind this story in an article titled The Work Behind Earning $10,000 & a $154.28 Bonus by Designing a Life-Saving Boosted Story.

Why I paid so much attention and spend more time and effort on this story you may wonder. Chronic stress can wreak havoc on your HPA axis — a system managing your body’s stress response. When this axis is dysregulated, it can lead to mental and physical health problems.

In this short post I explain the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis, a complex system that regulates stress response in the body. I explain how stress, negative thoughts, and unpleasant emotions can dysregulate this system leading to various health problems.

I then provide practical tips to manage these factors, highlighting the importance of mindfulness, cognitive restructuring, and emotional regulation for a healthier and happier life.

The hypothalamus is a critical brain region that controls the stress response. It also has many functions, like regulating the autonomic nervous and endocrine systems, body temperature, hunger, thirst, sleep, and emotional responses.

When we experience a stressor, whether a physical threat or emotional reaction, the HPA axis is instantly activated. The HPA axis comprises complex interactions between the hypothalamus, pituitary gland, and adrenal glands.

Here’s a brief summary of how we can manage chronic stress by regulating our HPA access in three practical steps.

1. Manage Accumulated Stress

Stress accumulates over time, wearing down the body. To reduce this, focus on restorative activities.

  • Prioritize sleep, healthy eating, and regular exercise.

  • Use mindfulness practices like meditation and yoga.

  • Engage in enjoyable hobbies like gardening, reading, or art.

2. Address Cognitive Distortions

Negative thinking patterns can impair the HPA axis.

  • Practice self-talk, journaling, and mindfulness to observe and challenge your thoughts.

  • Reframe negative thoughts into positive ones using cognitive restructuring techniques.

3. Regulate Unpleasant Emotions

Unmanaged and unpleasant emotions like anxiety or anger can further dysregulate your stress system.

  • Practice deep breathing, progressive muscle relaxation, or gentle exercise to reduce emotional intensity.

  • Build emotional resilience through self-compassion and setting boundaries.

By following these practical steps — managing stress, challenging cognitive distortions, and regulating emotions — you can optimize the regulation of your HPA axis, leading to better health, well-being, joy, and life satisfaction.

You can read the full article with detailed links to scientific sources.

3 Steps to Regulate HPA Axis and Defeat Chronic Stress

For new readers, I also added the content of this story to this 12-minute interactive podcast on my Patreon site, which you can listen to at your convenience. You can learn about my freelance coaching offer here.

My Personal Approach to Overcome Chronic Stress and Inflammation

Although several healthy lifestyle factors made an impact, for me the biggest impact for optimizing my HPA axis and lowering chronic stress were meditation, exercise, sleep, and intermittent fasting as one meal a day and occasional long-term fasting. I link five relevant stories here.

Meditation Can Boost the Cortical Thickness in the Brain and Prevent It from Thinning


Remarkable Health Benefits of Long-Term Fasting


The True Science Behind the Health Benefits of Time-Restricted Eating, Including 23 Quality Clinical Studies from Lancet’s 2024 Metaanlysis


The Brain Needs 4 Types of Workouts


The Brain Needs 3 Types of Rest


Thank you for reading, listening, and sharing this post. 🙏


If you are a writer, you are welcome to join my publications by sending a request via this link. I support 32K writers who contribute to my publications on this platform. You can contact me via my website. I also have another profile to write and curate tech stories. Friend Links to My Sample Boosted Stories for Non-Members of Medium.

New Submission Guidelines for ILLUMINATION, Curated Newsletters, SYNERGY, and Technology Hits.

You are welcome to join the ILLUMINATION Community on Medium and Substack and our education tool, Substack Mastery, curated by ILLUMINATION-Curators. Here is the Importance and Value of Medium Friendship for Writers and Readers

Join me on Substack, where I offer experience-based content on health, content strategy, and technology topics to inform and inspire my readers.

Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz

Content Strategy, Development, & Marketing Insights

Technology Excellence and Leadership

Share Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz

Leave a comment

Discussion about this podcast

Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz
Health and Wellness by Dr Mehmet Yildiz
Articles about health, well-being, fitness, self-improvement, personal/professional development, longevity and disease prevention
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Dr Mehmet Yildiz